At a glance

About the Humboldt Professorship

What is the purpose of the award funds?

The award amount is 3.5 million EUR for researchers in theoretical disciplines and 5 million EUR for those conducting experimental research. It finances the professorship for the first five years. When the universities nominate a candidate they also have to submit a strategic plan for the long-term financing of the professorship beyond the funding period. The money can be used very flexibly. Most of it is channeled into building research teams or paying for technical or laboratory facilities. But it can also be used to finance positions for accompanying partners, for example. Furthermore, a maximum of 180,000 EUR annually may be spent on the award winner’s salary, in addition to whatever the university pays from its own budget. The programme is financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Can Germans receive the award?

Nationality is irrelevant. The candidate must be established as a researcher in another country and come to Germany from that country. About half of the award winners are Germans returning from abroad.

Who can nominate candidates for the Humboldt Professorship?

German universities. They may make a nomination on their own, or they can get together with a non-university research institute and submit a joint nomination. The award winner then usually spends half his or her time working at the university and the other half at the partner institution, such as a Max Planck Institute.

When are decisions made, negotiations conducted and awards granted?

Twice a year, an interdisciplinary selection committee appointed by the Foundation examines the nominations. Experts from the German Research Foundation also take part, particularly to assess the strategic plans submitted by the universities. The most convincing candidates are selected for the award and can then embark on their final negotiations with the respective university. This can take up to eight months. If appointment negotiations fail, the award is not granted. The researchers who are appointed as Alexander von Humboldt Professors receive their awards at a formal, annual ceremony that is held in Berlin in May.

Auf einen Blick

Über die Humboldt-Professur

Wozu dient das Preisgeld?

Die Preissumme beträgt 3,5 Millionen Euro für theoretisch und 5 Millionen für experimentell arbeitende Wissenschaftler. Sie dient der Finanzierung einer Professur für die ersten fünf Jahre. Die Universitäten legen bei der Nominierung ein Konzept vor, wie sie die Professur über diesen Zeitraum hinaus langfristig finanzieren werden. Das Geld kann sehr flexibel eingesetzt werden. Meist fließt es vor allem in den Aufbau von Forschungsteams oder in die technische und räumliche Ausstattung. Es können aber beispielsweise auch Stellen für mitreisende Partner finanziert werden. Außerdem können jährlich maximal 180.000 Euro des Preisgeldes für das Gehalt des Preisträgers verwendet werden, zusätzlich zu dem, was die Universität aus eigenen Mitteln bezahlt. Finanziert wird das Programm vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

Können auch Deutsche den Preis erhalten?

Die Staatsbürgerschaft spielt keine Rolle. Der jeweilige Kandidat muss nur aus dem Ausland kommen und dort als Forscher etabliert sein. Rund die Hälfte der Preisträger sind deutsche Rückkehrer aus dem Ausland.

Wer kann Preisträger vorschlagen?

Nominierungsberechtigt sind deutsche Hochschulen. Sie können sich aber mit außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen für eine gemeinsame Nominierung zusammentun. Der Preisträger arbeitet dann in der Regel zu gleichen Teilen an der Universität und der Partnereinrichtung, beispielsweise einem Max-Planck-Institut.

Wann wird ausgewählt, wann verhandelt, wann verliehen?

Zweimal im Jahr entscheidet ein interdisziplinärer Auswahlausschuss der Stiftung über die Nominierungen. Beteiligt sind auch Experten der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, die insbesondere die Strategiekonzepte der Universitäten prüfen. Wer den Ausschuss überzeugt, wird für den Preis ausgewählt und kann nun die abschließenden Verhandlungen mit der Universität beginnen, für die acht Monate zur Verfügung stehen. Scheitern diese Berufungsverhandlungen, wird auch kein Preis verliehen. Die erfolgreich berufenen neuen Alexander von Humboldt-Professoren werden bei der jährlich im Mai stattfindenden Preisverleihung in Berlin feierlich ausgezeichnet.